RSS Feed

Black Bean Dye

I have all my fabrics, I know what I want to do but I can’t seem to get everything together, or have the energy, or have the time.

This is getting a little frustrating!

So I did something.

I am still mordantless and I don’t have a dye specific pot yet so I really shouldn’t have, but it was so lovely looking…

My husband Josh has found some truly marvellous recipes for beans that we’ve both been enjoying.

Except when the beans boil all over the stovetop.

This was, however, rather serendipitous in one instance as you shall see.

While making his splendid Hot Black Beans – good hot or cold actually – the beans, of course, boiled all over the stove. And what a glorious boiling it was. Black bean water everywhere! And what a glorious colour it was!!! It was a lovely dark shade of purpely brown. As I am new to dyeing I had no idea if it would work or if it would hold but it was a lovely idea to store.

Then tonight I got very fed up with my ratty old dish cloth and so crocheted a new one.

I had saved a bowl of black bean water from his last boiling.

It was sitting on the counter.

In went the new white cotton dish cloth and 5% acid {white vinegar – thank you Wendy from Threadborne}.

This is what it looks like now.

PS No new birds today :(

Leave a Reply

