RSS Feed

The Boiled One

Posted on

So far I’ve been steaming all of my eco bundles.

But then the wonderful Monika of Red2White suggested boiling them to actually get proper leaf prints.

I was a little sceptical of boiling to start with because when I was dyeing with the different flowers I didn’t want to get muddled brown. I wanted distinct colour impressions.

 

But for leaf prints, I realized, I wanted the shape and texture not really the colour so much so it didn’t matter if it got muddled.

 

I had pressed some leaves and gathered fresh ones and laid them out on a 2 yard piece of flat crepe that I had.

There was a wonderful dark, left over, liquid from previous steamings in the dye pot. I topped this up with water and boiled some big rusty bits in it for a while and then took all but one out.

The crepe was bundled and wrapped tight with string and then popped into the murky muddle for about 3 1/2 – 4 hours. I don’t remember exactly.

It turned out wonderfully!

Close up of maple leaf

Close up of rose leaves and smoke bush leaves

7 responses »

  1. Gorgeous fabric – I love how it turned out. What are you going to make with it?

    Reply
  2. Pingback: the base « dyefeltsool

  3. Pingback: Scarf Sent « dyefeltsool

  4. Beautiful patterning on this … =D

    Reply
  5. Hi. Love your blog :-). I am trying to get strong leaf prints on silk. Can you tell me if I need to soak the fabric first & if so in what? I am new to eco dyeing but loving the results so far.

    Kind Regards
    Beverley

    Reply
    • Hi Beverly.
      I put all my fabrics in an alum mordant before dyeing but I know other natural dyers use salt water or vinegar to help fix the stain. It just depends on your preference. I would play with different mordants and see what you prefer.
      Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

