RSS Feed

Moving

Posted on

Dear Readers and Friends,

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank all of you for your contributions so far. Your kind comments, information passed on, and encouragement have been very helpful.

As I’ve already mentioned we’re moving up North, so I’m taking a break as we pack all of our things and shift to a new adventure. Hopefully the blog will continue in September when everything has settled down and I’m sorted out. I can’t wait to actually start crafting the silk into something wearable, but, for the moment, that will have to wait.

Oh, and we’re up to 119 species if you’re interested.

We saw a Black Throated Blue Warbler while camping in Awenda.

So pretty!

And some incredible fungus or mushrooms. I don’t know what they are but that faint pink in the stems is stunning.

{So I did a little research and these are Monotropa Uniflora. They are a member, funny enough, of the blueberry family – Ericaceae. Not a fungus at all.}

See you in September

PS Make sure you check out the August 1 post. I have a surprise for you!

4 responses »

  1. Good luck with your move – I hope everything goes smoothly for you!

    Reply
  2. The ‘fungi’ is very interesting – what a surprise that they are actually in the blueberry family! I would never have guessed. Hope the move goes well, and look forward to seeing more of your wonderful fiber experiments … =D

    Reply
    • I wish it was “octupi” and “walri” too. And we were pretty positive that they had to be fungi because they were white but my husband noticed a bee flying around them and we couldn’t figure out what a bee would want with fungus. So yesterday, when I had sometime, I googled “white fungus with flowers” and these guys popped up. Apparently its a pretty common misconception because of their colour. The design is actually quite remarkable – no chlorophyll because they grow deep in the forest and can’t depend on sunlight. That one website gave some good information on them.
      And thanks. Packing up has been chaos but we’re nearing the end. The move date is August 10th and then hopefully everything will settle down as we settle in. Thank you for your kind comment. It’s so much fun playing with the silk and the plants. So many amazing combinations and surprise results! Make sure to check out tomorrow’s blog. I hope you like it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

