RSS Feed

Stitching Inspiration

I saw this gorgeous art quilt by Jane LaFazio on Pinterest the other day and it was instant inspiration. 

Art Quilt

Stitch Ritual by Jane LaFazio 60 x 24

http://janeville.blogspot.ca/2012/03/stitch-ritual.html

In the blog about this particular quilt she spoke about her evening stitch ritual. I liked the sound of that.

I don’t know about you but every once in a while I really just want to hand stitch. Not a something either. More of an anything kind of thing.

So the idea of this super lovely quilt made me so happy. Over time she made all sorts of itty bitty quilts. Each unique to time and place and anythingness. Then later – deadline for her, intense desire to compile will be most likely for me -she puts them all together in random wonder and there you have it. A quilt.

The pointless creativity of it really appeals to me.

And don’t think pointless in a bad way. I have a habit sometimes of not “wasting” time on something if I cannot perceive it’s immediate value to me and mine or “the greater good and such”. I’m busy, as I am sure you are too, and so even if it may be enjoyable and something I like I probably should be doing the dishes/laundry/dusting/volunteer work etc instead of sitting in my creaky old chair twirling and stitching {more on the chair later or I’ll digress}. So the fact that this particular project doesn’t necessarily have to be made, is not necessarily going to be an item to sell in my right now mythical shop, that it will be made solely for fun and for absolutely no point has me squirming with glee.

While I was at my Mum and Dad’s for a relaxing weekend I started it with vintage thread from my Great Grandmother’s stash passed on to my Mum and now to me. Don’t you just love old wooden spools? I could kiss them I love them so much. Ok, maybe I did. Anyways. In keeping with last year’s ABDY it made perfectly logical sense that the first bitty bit would be a bird. I don’t know why I chose the Red-Bellied Woodpecker. I’ve only seen a Yellow-Bellied Sapsucker, which is nowhere close to the same thing. Hee hee, Yellow-Bellied. Doesn’t that make you happy?

He’s a bit fat and his head’s too small but I love him anyways. My sister says it’s looks like a pregnant bird that got shot, she didn’t realize he’s supposed to be red-bellied.

I don’t know what to call him. I once had a jade plant named Cyril that got too big for himself and fell apart and died. Maybe Cyril will work. There’s an over-large-for-their-own-good theme here. I haven’t edged him or interfaced him or anything yet so don’t laugh. And I don’t really know what I’m doing anyways.

But it is fun!

Red-bellied Woodpecker

Ecodyed Cotton 054

11 responses »

  1. I so love the idea of a quilt in little bits of time scenerio ….yes, it is on my to do list and this quilt has me soooo inspired. Thank you for sharing your lovely blog, I look forward to reading more. Love your bird :)

    Reply
  2. Love the idea of making lots of little handstitched quilts and then joining them much later … thanks so much for sharing this inspiration with fellow bloggers! =D

    Reply
  3. I think creativity without a goal is always the most satisfying & I love this idea of lots of little quilts pieced together. Thanks for sharing the inspiration & love your little bird.

    Reply
  4. Oh, and I love your little bird!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Red Currants « dyefeltsool

Leave a Reply

