RSS Feed

The Amazing Oatmeal!

Posted on

I thought I’d share my new favourite breakfast with you today.

I’m not much of a breakfast person, I’d rather eat lunch around 10:30. But my Mum always told me that I needed to eat my breakfast. She was the one who introduced me to this.

When I was in school we had oatmeal basically every morning. Water and oats, some brown sugar and usually canned peaches on top. Not the most appetizing and by high school I hated it. But it was good for me.

So as soon as I was a grownup and chose my own own breakfast I just stopped eating it. Or ate it sporadically. Not good, I know.

This winter I was cold and starving quite a bit so breakfast became a necessity. Enter the Amazing Oatmeal.

I’m serious, it’s stinking awesome!

Plus I’ve been having some issues with too much milk consumption and this only has a dash while still being incredibly creamy and delicious.

I make mine in the microwave but I’m sure you could do it stovetop.

For 1 serving

 Amazing Oatmeal

1/4 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup + a bit water

Microwave for 1:30 minutes

While that’s in the mic

1 egg

dash of milk

In small bowl beat them well.

When the oat mix is done it should be a little runny, stir well and add the egg mix. Stir well again.

Put back into the mic on half power for another 1:30. I don’t know how to do half power on my microwave so I use Speed Defrost and that seems to work just fine.

While the egg mix is cooking pull out some craisens, brown sugar, ground flax and my Crab Apple Butter-ish.

When the oatmeal is finished cooking pull it out and stir well.

Then add

1 tsp brown sugar

1 tbsp ground flax

a handfull of craisens

a scoop or two of Crab Apple Butter-ish, or Canned Peaches if you want to be traditional :)

 Oatmeal with ground flax and crab apple sploosh

It is delightfully creamy and kind of desertish without having too much milk in it. I love it!

I hope you will too.

Enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. Never had oatmeal with egg, but why not? Protein is good.

    I usually eat mine with homemade vanilla apple sauce.

    Reply
    • Ooooo, that sounds really good! At first I thought the egg would be disgusting, but I was starving at 10:30 so my Mum suggested a bit of protein. It works really well :)

      Reply
  2. yum, i put eggs in my oatmeal as well. yummy, protein and a great consistency

    Reply

Leave a Reply

